” … new Inspired …”

You probably will not recognise the two-word title as a steal from the amazing speech that William Shakespeare put into the mouth of John of Gaunt. Until now.

That may be because they were the wrong words ,or simply not enough of them. It’s not important. Really.

But bear with me … if you will.

It’s a new year. I have been involved in a flurry of – largely administrative – allotment action since lunch-time. Indeed I have yet to visit the plots at all in person this year.

But after the phone calls, consulting web-sites, making copious and untidy notes in my new diary I came across an intriguing invitation/ suggestion on the internet.  Prompting me, nay challenging me to find a nominated poet. Nominated by someone from Puerto Rico! Can you imagine. The background is something of a … OK, long story short then:

I “met” Deb on an on-line poetry web-site. She was a natural poet, I was trying hard: both with assumed names. I provided poems for a book, Silent Consciousness when “commissioned” and visit the site she now manages

www.acousticink.com every now and then.

“Aleksander Pushkin!” she said.

What a great joy. Within half an hour and after seeking help from a friend in Romania (how marvellously helpful and incredible – in every sense of the word – the internet is!) had learned such a lot about this man and his works.

And became inspired: New year, new poet, new understanding.

So I give you the poem of his I enjoyed most (today):

 Prisoner.

I’m sitting by bars in the damp blackened cell —

The juvenile eagle, who’s bred by the jail,

My mournful friend, with his wings stretching wide,

Is picking at bloody food right by my side.

 

He’s picking and looking at me through the bars,

Like having a thought that is common to us,

Like calling to me with a glance and a sight,

And wanting to say, “Let us fly outside!

 

We’re free proud birds; it is time for the friends

To fly to the white of the rock in a haze,

To fly to the blue of the sea and the sky,

Where evenly dwell only tempests … and I!”

image: www.bhuwanchand.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

AGENTS OF FIELD

Garden Blog of the Year 2016

Allotment Life

Welcome to my world: digging, harvesting and other stuff

How to Provide

for your family

Crockern Farm

The evolution of an old farmhouse, an American woman, an Englishman and their dog.

The Richness of a Simple Life

Encourage, Inspire, Empower

Green lights ahead

If you could go anywhere you wanted, where would you be headed right now?

explorethetempest

boots of salt and plow blades

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Milenanik3's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Karina Pinella

Writing the Wrong, Right, and Ridiculous

tea & paper

... it's all about feelings ...

quercuscommunity

Life after the Care Farm

The Cynical Gardener

The most Dangerous plant to sleep under is the water lilly

wyrleyblog

Local History for Great Wyrley and Surrounding Areas

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

The English Professor at Large

Posts about old Hollywood, current concerns

Cornelia's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

