Resolutions, Luck and a Following Wind.

Greenwich: the home of time, and close to firework frenzy that is now expected as we switch from one year to the next. Despite local talk-jockeys on radio trying to suggest it is money wasted I confess to loving the scene- especially the superb camera shots on TV.
Then, this morning opening my eyes to high and clear blue skies and mild temperatures.
Walk to the shopping precinct – no it’s really not that exotic – and waiting in the queue, between a frail old lady was having problems hearing what the lady serving her was saying – and vice versa, while trying to buy every combination of lottery ticket known to man, beast or pensioner and two middle aged, comfortably girthed men making awkward small talk about, of all things, the reliability of weather forecasts.
So, plenty of time to review my New Year’s Resolutions (one is never enough of course!).
Get to the gym more often – and make it count! I have been reasonably fit all of my so-far life, but am aware that I have spent large amounts of time this year sitting fairly still. I just need to be going for long enough not to be so stupidly self-conscious … and for it to become established habit. How long either of these will be I have no idea. But I do appreciate my fitness and will not be taking it for granted.
Juggle a little more. No, literally. I learned to juggle after one of our daughters looked down upon and rejected a present of juggling balls (complete with instructions) some years ago. I took up the challenge and have taught myself both the cascade and shower routines. Lost the original balls, but apples or tennis balls fill in adequately thank you.
Since my blog has met with some success (thank you for that) I would like to challenge myself to perform some of my poems live. I am aware that there is a “Hit The Ode” web-site which offers open-mic performances … and I di remember a BBC Radio 4 programme saying that doing something that scares you on a regular basis is good for your health. This would then be extremely good for me.
I love travelling and have been very lucky so far to have been to some fine places and met some incredibly kind and interesting people, so some ambition/resolution to travel has to feature somewhere; but exactly where, mmm, have to keep working on that one…
…but speaking of the blogosphere, would like to learn more “tricks of the trade” particularly with regard to photography. I know it means taking time, being patient and learning new buttons, but … well, we’ll see eh?
One I need to keep a secret, it’s about modesty an’ all that, but I have already revealed to you dear reader, far more than is normally known.
The final one is to help my family – each member of which I am truly proud.
Heads down and trust in the Lord, here comes 2013!

Leave a Reply

AGENTS OF FIELD

Garden Blog of the Year 2016

Allotment Life

Welcome to my world: digging, harvesting and other stuff

How to Provide

for your family

Crockern Farm

The evolution of an old farmhouse, an American woman, an Englishman and their dog.

The Richness of a Simple Life

Encourage, Inspire, Empower

Green lights ahead

If you could go anywhere you wanted, where would you be headed right now?

explorethetempest

boots of salt and plow blades

heretherebespiders

blowing through the cobwebs of my mind

Milenanik3's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Karina Pinella

Writing the Wrong, Right, and Ridiculous

tea & paper

... it's all about feelings ...

quercuscommunity

Life after the Care Farm

The Cynical Gardener

The most Dangerous plant to sleep under is the water lilly

wyrleyblog

Local History for Great Wyrley and Surrounding Areas

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

The English Professor at Large

Posts about old Hollywood, current concerns

Cornelia's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

